DSLR vs. Camcorder

Hello Indietalk, i'll start off by saying I am a total noob at anything equipment related. As of late I've read a couple of books on script writting, and I've decided to slowly start constructing a beginners set up to bring my own scripts to life (short films). I've done some research around the forum and seen that the Canon T2i, as well as the Canon Vixia HF-S20 seem to have good feedback from the members. I noticed however that the T2i is oriented for stills, even though it may have great video functions.
So if you could catch me up on that. I'm basically looking for a sub 1000$ Cam to work with.
I also have an additional 600$ (for now), that I will be setting aside for a tripod, first microphone, and basic lighting; when I decide on the camera. I will be making a different thread for that.

Thanks in advance

T2i. In your price-range, there is no debate. Do some more searching around the archives of this forum, if you need further confirmation. You'll reach the same conclusion:

Hands-down, T2i, not even worth considering any other camera in your price-range.

plenty of information in older threads here abt dslrs and camcorders.

the search function is ur friend.

and id recommend saving a bit more than 600 for mi, tripod, lighting etc.

and if u go DSLR, start counting money for lenses.

thanks a lot, a couple more things:
can anyone address the "jello effect" (aka "rolling shutter") issue on dslrs?

also, will the stock lense allow me to experiement on my first film or will I be forced to buy a couple of lenses from the start?

@Ernest Worthing: it is not a set budget, but 600$ is what I have left over at the moment. I would like to get the basics (if possible) with that, and in the future I will expand more on mics/lighting.