• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Composers: What information do you want from directors?

Working with composers is something I've struggled with as a director, a few times the music they composed didn't match my vision for the film.

What sort of information do you want the director to give you before you compose music for them?

As a composer myself, if I was working for you I would ask you a specific group of questions tailored to extract as much relevant information from you as possible because it seems that, as you pointed out, directors have a lot of trouble communicating what it is they're really looking for.

As an example, let's say I'm working on a 5 minute short with 3 main scenes/sections.
1) First I ask for the genre of music since this defines a lot of things in one go. I also ask that with this definition of genre they provide an example of how they understand that genre to help eliminate the potential for misunderstanding.
2) Next I ask what mood they're looking to create. This question on its own rarely answers any REAL questions I have and is just to break the ice for the next step - exploring their world, their ideas and their own interpretations of the content they create.
3) Now I ask them to provide me with a sample of what I will be working with if they already have something. If they don't I ask them for a script and any kind of other resource (artwork or photos). If it's a more complex story I also discuss back story with them.