• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Coming up with a title for your "baby"

How many others reading this have had problems coming up with a good title for your "baby?" I've been writing a new story since December 2013. Problem is, I was never truly satisfied with the working title, even though I knew it was just a working title. It bothered me and urked me, like that squirmy feeling you get when you're nervous and about to approach the object of your sexual fantasies. Yeah, that feeling.

ANYWHO, it hit me this weekend upside the head with the force of a prize fighter fighting a school yard bully. Wham-o, I now have a title that I feel really fits the genre and tone of the piece I'm working on. How knows, maybe it will change by the time this 125 page journey is complete; but, maybe....just maybe it won't.

So, back to my original question: How many others have had a similar problem?

G

Personally, I've never had a title I'm happy with. I've finished writing, shooting, editing a whole project without having a proper title. Hell, I've even pushed back the release on a project trying to create a better title! The only things I ever seem to have good titles for don't get made!

Yep, right there with ya. It's taken me weeks just to come up with a working title for my next project. It finally hit me in the head, last night, and I might like it enough to eventually keep it as an actual title. :)

I wanted a one-word tile for my SciFi, ...so I made a list of words.

I did internet searches on each word I came up with until I found one that had a good sound to it and also was not used my a corporation, group or any other entity. Once I settled on the title, I then purchased the ".com" and the ".org" for my title so that no one else could come along and steal it.

So now, should someone purchase my script ....they don't have to worry about any website or company issues.