• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Color correction theory?

I'm a painter, and have worked in post effects for years, but I amazed that I never really realized how much color correcting thought went into film..

I am currently correcting to my taste.. Basically, free eyeing to a warm or cool lumanistic feel, depending on how the scene lends itself. That said, there must be some rules of thumb I am just mowing over, haha..

I was under the impression that color correction and color grading were 2 different things.

I thought color correction was about making sure that your white is white. For instance if you do a wedding event, your costumers will probably not be very happy if the bride's dress appears yellowish in your footage.

I thought color grading was about making your movie have a specific look. For instance if you do want a yellowish look (like "The Social Network") you would grade accordingly.

But in the tutorial posted by CamVader's the guy goes straight to grading and calls that "correction". So, maybe I'm wrong.

Theo, you're absolutely right. Color correction (as in fixing incorrect white balance) is just so easy to do with modern NLE's that it's not much of a task anymore and, like 2001 said, the terms have blurred together. The guy in the tutorial even worked at ILM, so even the big guys are making the mistake.

Correcting in post for an off-balance image never looks as good as a properly balanced camera original, IMO. If you're going to grade from there, starting with good is always better than starting with lousy.

Funny, I just Skyped with a buddy/DP up in San Jose about this very thing. He corrected me when I used the term Color Correction and meant Color Grading. Good to know that there is a difference!

I'm starting to wonder if white balance correction is useful at all since after grading white will probably not remain white.