Camera aquisition - which one?

Hello every one! I am new to this forum, and I am very excited of the perspective of making the acquaintance of experienced people in the field! I am not experienced at all, in fact the only camera I ever had was a Hitachi hi8 some 15 years ago. I enjoyed every bit of using it, but as all small things in my hands back then, they got very easily broken :S... In the meantime, I finished school, high school and college :P so I am pretty over with the more "immediate" stuff, and can enjoy my free time the way I really want to.

Ok so, I am on the verge on acquiring a camera, and don't yet know wich one to buy.. I have made some research over the years, and while I would love to get my hands on one of those RED's scarlett, I wouldn't really need all those megapixels for now.. Maybe the DOF but as I have heard, it is quite comparable to a 16mm camera.. so maybe other camcorders on the market can offer that kind of chip size.. I don't know, that's why I am here talking to you guys ;)

I have narrowed my research to one of these two cameras: CANON HF10 and SONY SR11. Why?
- I am currently living in Shanghai, and would like to make some kind of video documentary on the city's architecture / public spaces / life style. I am also not going to stay here forever, maybe only until end of june. So I dont have enough time to save the thousands of dollars worth semi-pro equipment.
- I know that technology grows each year, so I think that these high specs popular models, will be more easily refurbished to others.

The indecision factor:

CANON HF10 strong points for me:
non linear recording
solid state drive. more reliable.
flash card recording. the future is here I think..
Progressive recording (1080 24p etc..)
good video performance for the price

cons:
manual focus sucks (joystick on LCD)
AVCHD sucks from what I hear.. but its the best alternative to nle I think...