Brand names and products in film?

Hello, I'm very new to this whole shibang, but I will be filming a feature horror this fall, and had some questions about having brand names and the like on screen. If anyone has any experience with it, what are the legalities? Do I need a release signed for every single thing I put on screen?

For instance, if I have a ford car in the shot, do I need to call up ford and have a release signed?

If my main character uses a gun that resembles a Colt M1911 .45, do I need to have Colt sign one?

As well, for name brand clothes, or shoes that are caught on film, or literally anything that has a brand, do they need releases?

I would hate to have to contact 150 different companies by the end to get clearance, as that would be rather taxing since I do all the work myself.

Thanks for your time guys, look forward to hearing from you.

The plans for the film, and what you have lined up effect this more then anything. If you have major distribution setup, then worry about it. Do you only plan on hitting the horror convention scene and selling it at a table, submitting to contests and the like? If so then don't worry a bit about it, or atleast I don't.

I wouldn't suggest making fun of Nike by squeezing the blood of a thousand children from a running sneaker, announcing that you've personally seen Ted Turner rape a cow while eating it's back fat, or constantly shoving moldy Lay's potato chips down your greasy pie hole on screen....but if you happen to be wearing Reabok's? Who cares.

Read "the pocket lawyer for filmmakers" by Thomas A. Crowell, ESQ. This is a complex topic to cover in just a few paragraphs.
We rented out a liquor store and there were all kinds of products all over the place. In this situation you have a right to "dress your set" with real products. If attention is drawn to a product then it can become an issue, especially if it's used in a disparaging way.