• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Books on 'Sound'

Hi:

I am a film student focusing on direction and I have directed few short films. One area I severely lag is the usage of sound in films. I have worked with very good sound designers/mixers in the past and they have taken care of the issues. My professor told me that I don't need to know the in-depth details about the sound but as a director, I should know how to use the sound in films as a story telling device and how to communicate those ideas to sound designers. One of the sound designers recommended me this book "Sound for Film and Television" by Tomlinson Holman but the book is too technical to me. Can anyone recommend me sound books that focus mainly on "how to use sound in films"?

Thanks

My professor told me that I don't need to know the in-depth details about the sound but as a director, I should know how to use the sound in films as a story telling device and how to communicate those ideas to sound designers.

That is very good advice, although I would go a little further and state that you need to know how to plan for sound design (as a story telling device) and therefore how to communicate it to the wider cast and crew, not just the obvious sound personnel, particularly the DOP for example. An important point to remember is that sound design is not just about designing the sound for a film but is just as much about designing the film for sound! This is a point which is generally poorly taught in film schools and rarely identified by self-taught filmmakers/directors.