Bitten off more than I can chew for a first short?

Hi Folks,

As many of you will have gathered by now I am currently writing my first short. I am however slightly apprehensive as the narrative demands that 99 percent of the movie will be indoors and at night in relatively dark conditions.

The gear I am using will be a hacked GH2 (flowmotion) with the older kit lens(14-45mm f2.8) and a really nice canon FD 50mm f1.4.

As yet I don't have any lighting gear bar a manfrotto LED panel that sits in the hot shoe mount on top of my GH2,it has 22 LED's at 5600k.

I am worried about lighting the shots as it is something I have never done before.

Am I complicating my first shoot by doing it so dark?

Cheers.

It's possible, you just need to do plenty of tests.

When I test, I capture basic audio in-camera and note the lens, lighting being used, aperture, ISO, white balance setting etc. Do test scenes with your talent or stand-ins (friends/family).

Do lots of tests then watch them back on a large high quality screen.

I have filmed a number of night scenes and my field monitor gave me a false reading. Basically the picture looked lite well enough on it to see what you needed to see whilst still capturing the darkness. But when I viewed the footage on a calibrated monitor and large 60" plasma (very high quality) it was 20% darker and could not be used.

We may have been able to recover the footage in post but we decided to re-shoot to be safe, so we did.

Test. Test. Test.

The advantage of course of having a 'dark' short is that if you pull it off, it should look very cool and bring plenty of atmosphere to your story.

Sounds relatively doable.

I'd probably want to shoot around 2.8, but depends what works for you and the scene/movie.

You have access to much more than the LED!

China balls are the staple of any film set and are dirt cheap. There are some DPs that pride themselves on mainly using china balls to light.