• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

attempt to Foley

I've spent last 3 hours doing Foley recording, and audio editing for the following 1 minute clip..

Man, what a difficult DIFFICULT task!

This is my first time recording Foley, so need some advice, suggestions.. does it sound good/not good?

Still gonna do ADR for the main character though..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HU9bqy82nYg

PS I recorded myself answering a phone "Happy Home...", immitating a girl reception haha what an embarrassing voice, but i think goes well with bizarre scenario

Did you Foley the jacket? (It looks like leather so the audience expects to hear leather, even if it's not.)

What about the fingers rubbing and tapping the page in the phone book?

Personal preference - the thunk of the phone book on the car needs more "metal" and needs to be more "hollow". It sounds like it's hitting a tabletop, not a car hood.

The sounds are there, but it's tough to tell how well you did until they have context in the final mix.

Foley is a funny thing; some stuff needs to be three times as big as it really is so it sounds convincing in the final mix, but other times it needs to be just slightly overemphasized. It's a tough call, and knowing which is something that comes with experience.

What mic(s), recorder, etc. did you use?

Thank you for your time to review!

wow, so not just lighting that needs to be exaggerated, but i guess audio as well!

Fingers against the paper are in the mix, just gotta make em louder.
phone book was recorded on the hood of the car, and I did wear leather jacket to create the clothes rub..
but as you said, sounds need to be BIG!

i used h2n and ATR 6550.
Back to the editing room i go!

Last edited:
I think it's a really great practice to take a little project and dig deeply into every portion of production like this. I was really impressed with the page turns you got, well danced :)