A cheap, decent camera for starting out?

Hello, I wasn't sure if I should have posted this in the Camera section or here, I went with here as it is a newbie asking a newbie question. Before you shoot me, I did perform a search but could not find anything specific to what I want to ask.

Basically what I want to do is get an el cheapo 720p camera for starting out, I want to make semi decent quality short films with it for practice until I can graduate to something bigger and better.

I figure there's no point going out and getting a $1000 camera just yet, as I have not even made a short film yet I would be wasting my money because by the time I'm ready to do it properly there will be a newer, cheaper model with better features available!

Anyhoo, I have been doing some reading and saw a few people recommend Flip for complete beginners starting out. I did some more reading which lead me to the canon sd 940 which apparently does better video and audio than the flip for the same or cheaper price, also I get a decent point and shoot camera as well! I am considering the Canon unless someone can recommend something else?

Obviously, my budget is around the $200 AUD mark.

Thanks alot!

For the purposes of learning this craft, why do you need HD? I see no reason, whatsoever.

Cheap, used miniDV camera, off of ebay, for $100-$200. Make sure you've got a manual focus ring. Not just manual focus. Get the focus ring.

For the purposes of learning this craft, why do you need HD? I see no reason, whatsoever.

Cheap, used miniDV camera, off of ebay, for $100-$200. Make sure you've got a manual focus ring. Not just manual focus. Get the focus ring.