• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

A Better Hope

J

JulianWells

I just wrote this. I try to rely on dialogue to tell the story, something I have never done before. Any suggestions will help.

“a better hope”

Fade In:

INT. Bedroom. Night.

Shot of a male(BANE) and a woman(ANGEL) sleeping. A second goes by, and BANE wakes up, startled. He slowly gets up, pausing, the gets out of the bed, as the camera follows him out of the room. He walks into a living room, and turns on a lamp. He walks into another doorway, and the camera pans over to a man (SEAN) sitting in a chair. BANE walks back into the room.

BANE
Who the hell are you?

SEAN
The name’s Sean, but my friends call me Spike. You, although, are not my friend, Bane.

BANE
How did you get in here?

SEAN
Oh I get around.

BANE
I’m calling the cops.

BANE picks up a phone.

SEAN
I wouldn’t do that if I were you.

BANE starts dialing. SEAN looks annoyed. He nods his head, and the phone is pulled from BANE’S hands, and thrown onto the couch by an unseen force.

SEAN
Sit down.

BANE
How the hell did you do that?

SEAN
(irritated)
Sit. Down.

BANE sits down.

BANE
Why are you here?

SEAN
Stop asking so many damn questions.

BANE
What the hell do you expect?

SEAN
Cheering, applause, maybe a parade.

BANE
Who are you?

SEAN
First, you need to keep in mind that all the things you heard as a kid were true.

BANE
Who…are you?

SEAN
Vampires, werewolves, witches, demons… angels. All real. And all very much looking forward to meet you and your little cutie in there.

BANE
Who are you?!

SEAN lunges up, and grabs BANE by the throat.

SEAN
Stop asking questions.

SEAN lets go of BANE.

SEAN
To answer your question, I am an angel. A fallen angel. I was sent here by my employer.

BANE
God?

SEAN