• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

4 basic screenplay formatting questions

I am a relative noob with screenwriting. I have written about a half dozen short films, and just recently completed a first draft of a feature screenplay (supernatural suspense thriller). So I am still learning, and I am confused on a few issues that have to do with formatting the screenplay (breaking up space, scene titles, etc). Any help greatly appreciated!

(1) When/how to break up paragraphs into smaller chunks, add white space? What should constitute a paragraph in a scene, when should a line break be added to break up a larger paragraph? Should a paragraph represent a single continuous camera shot, a single action or series of actions at one location by one actor, or something else?

(2) If a car with actors is driving along a road, and the script has dialog of actors in the car but also visuals of the scenery while they drive, is that an INT. CAR or is it an EXT. ROAD scene?

(3) Can someone give an example of passive writing in a scene, and how it should be changed to more active prose?

(4) An actor stands in the kitchen near the door looking into the living room, and the scene describes what the actors sees in the living room. Is the scene INT. KITCHEN or INT. LIVING ROOM? It is a POV shot but if spec script and not a shooting script how is the scene titled-- INT. KITCHEN or INT. LIVING ROOM?

These answers aren't definitive... just the way I do it.

1) Paragraphs:

Shorter rather than longer. I tend to think of a paragraph as equating to a dramatic beat. I know that probably doesn't help, but basically if a character enters a room and goes to a reception desk... that's a unit of action. What happens between him and the receptionist is a new unit and therefore a new paragraph.

I break up paragraphs, by using "--" to break up the units into distinct actions. I also us it to control pace.