• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

16:9 emulation on DV

hey everybody...I'm sure this question has been already asked countless times, but I'm a newbie, so please bear with me.

I'm shooting a feature on a Canon XL1. I've done a lot of test footage just getting to know the ins and outs of the camera (which I can't recommend enough, btw), but I only have one problem...I want to shoot this as close to 16:9 as possible, and can't afford the 35mm adapter that a friend of mine told me about ($10,000+). The camera has a built-in 16:9 emulation that it does digitally, which is alright, but the resolution goes way down when you do it that way. I don't want to just crop it in post for a number of reasons. What are my other options? Because of the interchangability of the camera, is there another lens or something that I can get? I am by no means a "techie" or anything...I'm a DP by way of director by way of writer (if that makes any sense) so please use your smallest technical words, because I get lost very easily :) Thanks for all of your help.

Anamorphic adapter...

surewillfilms said:
hey everybody...I'm sure this question has been already asked countless times, but I'm a newbie, so please bear with me.